The Main House
With a rich history, this beautiful building hasn’t always been a 4 star hotel. In the 13th century, Philip de Fedarg, believed to be a Knight Templar, built a tower house on a rocky outcrop at the area’s high point. Meldrum, from the Gaelic Meall Druim, means ‘The ridge on the hill’. The original owner changed his name from de Fedarg to Meldrum, and bestowed the name on the parish.
Reborn. Remodelled. Redesigned.
In 1628, the original stable block was added, with a central tower carrying a carved stone coat of arms on the North-East face. This crest is still prominent today. By the 17th and 18th centuries, two further wings were added, creating a substantial courtyard. The elegant stone staircase and the stables block were also added, complete with an impressive gatehouse. In 1836 the house was redesigned and the grounds were substantially remodelled to provide the basis of the lawns, plantings and trees that remain today.
Around 100 years later, the house was remodelled again, with the removal of the turreted pavilion and a complete storey of the main house to leave the L-shaped house we know today.
Our excellent cuisine and warm Scottish hospitality has been earning Meldrum House an international reputation since it became a hotel in the 1950s – a reputation that’s equally as important to us today.
But we never rest on our laurels.
To maintain our standards of excellence, our 4 Star hotel has undergone a comprehensive upgrading programme, including all the guest areas. The Gate House and The Stables have also been renovated to provide the finest in accommodation and state-of-the-art conference facilities. We may have a 13th century building. But we can surpass the demands of 21st century guests.